Best Biopic EVER: New Edition

First let’s take time to thank Black Entertainment Television for the amazing biopic on New Edition. They aired the three part series this past Tuesday, Wednesday & Thursday…. *Cues applause* 👏🏽👏🏽


Prior to this biopic I loved the music from New Edition. Now that I’ve witnessed their story, I LOVE everything about them. New Edition embodies what it means to be artist. From fits to presentation they get a 100 from me. These fellas sing, dance, dress, and give an amazing show…. There’s not a current band that I think can hold a candle to New Edition. The brotherhood these men have is something so authentic. I mean we got the chance to see them grow up together. They fought, They cried, they laughed, they loved & they prayed together… Family… That’s the essence of what siblings do for sure.. Me and my older brother did all of the above.. 


The fellas who had the pleasure to play the parts of the band members were AWESOME.. The kids were cute and great actors.. It was dope to see the transition from kids to teenagers and grown men.. Those guys were able to really step into their characters and become them. Not to mention they did a good job in making sure the cast looked like the members of New Edition just enough to make us feel as if it’s real… Go BET! 


What the Biopic did for New Edition was introduce them to the younger generation and the uninformed. It made them personable to them without ruining who they are. I’m sure the Biopic had BET’s ratings POPPIN! Definitely one of the best things they’ve put out in a while..


My fav New Edition member: Mike Bivins. There’s something to be said about a man  recognizing how to make himself irreplaceable in an industry the chews ppl up and spits them out. I think Mike did that by becoming a sponge and learning about the music business. And he discovered Boyz II Men, I love them!


My fav actor in the Biopic: Woody McClain. He played Bobby Brown. He was so dope in the role too. I know he’s my favorite because he provoked the most emotion out of me. When he was on bull I hated him. When he was jammin I was like “YEAAAAAA BOY!”. And when Mike spit in his face I wanted to fight him with Woody, ok?!.. Bobby seemed to be the most difficult memeber and for Woody to play his part and it feel natural is everything! 


My favorite songs: Mr. Telephone man… Easily a fav. The lyrics crack me up and I love how for real they are while singing them tho. They just KNOW that ain’t they shortie phone that another man is answering? Naw Bruh! 😂 

“Can you stand the rain”  definitely an amazing ballot. I feel as though when Johnny Gill made his entrance into the group it challenged the fellas vocally to step it up. This song proves it. Seeing that part in the Biopic made me wish I was present for the recording of the song either when it was done by NE or the cast. 

“Poison” DUH *Pops gum, rolls eyes*  The whole production on this track is EVERYTHING. Hearing the beat drop has to be the equivalent of hearing “Cash money records taking over for the 99′ and the 2000” for that era. Then to hear how they had to promo the record by having a basketball tour? Ha! These fellas were so innovative! I love it! 


Okay guys, I’m done. If you haven’t seen the Biopic check your local listings for BET’s New Edition Story. Also check out this The Breakfast Club interview: https://www.youtube.com/shared?ci=nZv6QhBX_1g

Leave a comment